No Way To Be

I’m about to do something I’ve never done before:  I’m going to post one of my songs.

I suppose I should take a moment and introduce myself.  My name is Becky Campbell, and I’m a closet songwriter and musician.  (Translation:  I have social and performance anxieties.  Not counting piano recitals or high school orchestra engagements, I have a grand total of (drum roll, please) two public performances under my belt…at open mic nights.)  Anyhoo…

I wrote “No Way To Be” during the summer of 2010, and I had the chance to produce it for a term project during my final semester of Music Industry Arts at Fanshawe College in early 2011.  Shout out to my MIA mates who lent their talents and time:  Caitlin Clarke (engineering, vocal coaching, and all-around provider of encouragement), Serin Hong (engineering and hug-giving), and Justin Shorey (drums).

I had a lot of fun producing this song, although I will admit to many ‘I’m going to stab myself in the eye’ moments of frustration during the mixing process.  It could use a few tweaks here and there, but I’ll spare you the details and instead invite you to take a listen (play below).

Comments and constructive criticism are welcome 🙂