Fusion Friday: Half Moon Run / Stevie Wonder

It’s the end of the work week, which means it’s time for another installment of Fusion Friday!  Two songs, two artists, different feels.

You know when you hear a song and it feels like you’ve been punched in the emotions – but in a good way?  Ok, maybe “punched” isn’t the right word.  Let’s try this again.

You know when you hear a song and it feels like you’ve been transported to a new and beautiful place?  That’s how I feel when I hear “Full Circle” by Half Moon Run.

Damn, Canada!  You never cease to amaze me with your musical gems.

The tension.  The scratchiness in his voice the first time he sings, “And I watch”.  The sound and rhythm of the drums.  The crescendos.  Everything about the production.  How it all comes together in a way that makes me feel I’m witness to an artist painting with colours I’ve never imagined.  Everything about this song, I love.

Half Moon Run is opening for Patrick Watson on May 29th at the Danforth Music Hall in Toronto.  I will be in the audience, and I might pee my pants (or cry) a little when (because I’m assuming they will) they play “Full Circle”.

 

 

And now for something completely different:  “Superstition” by Stevie Wonder live on Sesame Street.  There are no words for how many kinds of awesome this is.  Seriously.  Don’t get me started on the funk.

 

 

Your turn!  What are your two song picks for Fusion Friday?

Have a smashing weekend 🙂