Fusion Friday: Beck / The Guess Who

It’s Fusion Friday!  Two songs, two artists, different feels.

I’ve been on a bit of a Beck kick this week.  One of my favourites is “Nicotine & Gravy” from Midnight Vultures.  I can’t even begin to break this down, in my usual attempt to describe a song’s awesomeness.  I’m not sure I’ve ever used the word “eargasm”.  If ever there was a time, then now is it.  I especially love when all the vocal lines begin to come together around 3:17, and then when the song veers off around 4:03 into a wicked fadeout.

 

 

Speaking of ‘gasms…

My first real concert experience was The Guess Who when I was about 17 or 18.  My parents bought four tickets, and I got to bring a friend.  (Yes, I went to my first rock concert with my parents.  My dad has good taste in music, alright?)  After the show (which was awesome), we sat in our car for awhile waiting for the parking area to clear a bit.  My mom pipes up, “What is he doing?”  She was looking at the man in the driver seat of the car parked next to ours on her side.  We all looked.  His facial expressions and moans suggested he might be in a lot of pain or something.  Or…something…

And that’s when we saw her head come up.  Yep.  That happened.  Nothing says rock’n’roll like witnessing a man getting a blow job with your parents.  (There is no possible segue here, so I will use the standard.)  Anyway.

“No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature” is possibly my favourite Guess Who song – especially around 3:54 when the two vocal parts come together.

 

 

Happy long weekending!  And don’t forget to post your two song picks for Fusion Friday.