Blast from Demos Past: “Blacklight”

Hey, how ’bout that internet? Word on the street is it’s here to stay.

I can’t help but think of how much the media landscape has changed since I was a kid. I was born in ’82, and my family didn’t own a computer until I was in grade 10 or 11. (To this day, my parents still have dial-up service.) My first full-time job was a sales associate position with a Bell World store beginning in 2002, back when many of the good folks of my Southwestern Ontario hometown were still mighty attached to their Motorola StarTACs and text messaging was a new form of communication. Fast forward 11 years, and I am a “mature” student studying media and communication at the age of thirty. Go figure.

A recent online conversation with Houston Roby of 1 2 3 o’clock 4 o’clock Rock has me revisiting old song demos of mine that likely ought to be better left hidden away within the recesses of my (and my laptop’s) memory. But what fun would that be in an age when it’s never been easier and faster to publicly humiliate oneself in a permanent medium?

On that note, I bring you a blast from my zip disk past. “Blacklight” was recorded with a Roland BOSS BR-8 in 2006-ish, featuring Trevor Burt on bass, Kurtis Welland on lead guitar, and yours truly on Roland TD-6 drums, rhythm guitar and (extremely embarrassing) vocals.