The 24th Street Wailers

Howdy-do, folks?

I’ve been meaning to write to you. I’ve also been meaning to show some love to The 24th Street Wailers on this blog for awhile now. Who’s got two thumbs and is killing two birds with one stone? (You’ll have to take my word that I’m thumb-pointing at myself. Also, no birds were harmed in the writing of this post.)

I don’t remember how I first came across The 24th Street Wailers, but I’m sure glad I did. Check out their sweet performance of “The Pleasure’s All Mine” from Bearly’s House of Blues and Ribs in Halifax, with a special guest appearance by guitarist Marc Doucet.

See what I mean? They’re totally kick-ass. It’s no wonder that they’re competing in international blues competitions, performing in festivals, and receiving award nominations. All well deserved.

I love Lindsay Beaver’s voice – and I have mad respect for anyone who can sing and lay down a groove at the same time. (I’ve tried, and it ain’t easy.) Lindsay’s husband Mike Archer holds down the low end on bass, Jon Wong wails on sax, and, last but certainly not least, Emily Burgess rips it up on guitar. Ladies represent! And did I mention they’re Canadian? Based in Toronto, On-tar-i-o! The foursome are Humber music grads, and apparently their band name came from the address of a house where they all live (or used to live . . . I’m not up to speed on their current housing situation).

Let’s listen to another song, shall we? Here’s “Lord Protect My Child” from the band’s performance at the Summerfolk festival in my hometown of Owen Sound.

(P.S. I mentioned Bearly’s in my first ever post. June 7 will mark my second birthday as a blogger. How awesome that I get to experience a second Terrible Twos phase as a thirty-year-old!)