Summer update: Just call me Aunt Becky / Road trip to Nova Scotia / Sam Roberts

It’s been awhile! How have you been?

I’ve had a busy few months myself. Finished 1.5 credits throughout the spring term, started a new job, drove to Nova Scotia and back in ten days with Handsome, and met my new niece. (She’s my cousin’s baby, which makes me an honorary aunt since my cousin and I are very close and I have no siblings. I finally get to be Aunt Becky! Well, I hope to be cool Aunt Becky, but just typing that makes it seem less likely.)

The courses I took during the spring term each required me to start a new blog, so I was juggling three spaces here on WordPress. (Well, not so much juggling as tossing all three up in the air and this one falling by the wayside while I tossed the other two from hand to hand.)

Our road trip to Nova Scotia was fantastic. Just what we needed. We took our time driving there, spending one night each in Brockville, (ON), Riviere Du Loup (QC) and Bouctouche (NB). Four nights with Handsome’s parents in Sydney Mines (NS). Then back to Ontario, with overnight stops in Grand Falls (NB) and Quebec City. I could have easily spent another week on the road.

Quebec countryside.
Quebec countryside.
View from our hotel deck in Riviere Du Loup, QC.
View from our hotel deck in Riviere Du Loup, QC.
Sunset in Riviere Du Loup.
Sunset in Riviere Du Loup.
Miramichi, NB.
Miramichi, NB.
Crossing the Canso Causeway to Cape Breton Island, NS.
Crossing the Canso Causeway to Cape Breton Island, NS.
Ice cream break at The Farmer's Daughter Country Market in Whycocomagh. Nice backdrop eh?
Ice cream break at The Farmer’s Daughter Country Market in Whycocomagh. Nice backdrop eh?
Beautiful blues on Cape Breton Island.
Beautiful blues on Cape Breton Island.

Grand Falls, NB.
Grand Falls, NB.
Perspective.
Perspective.
Quebec City.
Quebec City.
Northbound on Highway 6, ON.
Northbound on Highway 6, ON.

*Wistful sigh*

Any decent Canadian road trippin’ soundtrack calls for Sam Roberts, and this trek was no exception. We listened to The Inhuman Condition, We Were Born in a Flame and – my personal favourite – Chemical City. For many Canucks, The Tragically Hip are the quintessential Canadian rock band. For me, it’s the Sam Roberts Band. And there is no better place to listen to a Sam Roberts album than on the road. If you’ve never heard Chemical City, I urge you to buy a copy and listen to it from start to finish. It’s a fantastic album.

I’ll leave you with two of my favourite Sam Roberts songs, “Mind Flood” and “A Stone Would Cry Out” (both from Chemical City). There are ten songs in total I’d like to share with you, but since that’s an excessive number of videos to include in one post I’ll just give you the titles of the other eight. If you’re not familiar with Sam Roberts, check them out if you feel so inclined.

  • “Hard Road”
  • “Where Have All The Good People Gone”
  • “The Canadian Dream”
  • “Bridge to Nowhere”
  • “Uprising Down Under”
  • “Let It In”
  • “Sang Froid”
  • “I Feel You”

“Mind Flood” is a killer tune. It’s dark and atmospheric, with a delicious ebb and flow. “A Stone Would Cry Out” is intimate and heartbreaking. I cried the first time I heard it and immediately fell in love with the song. Without further ado: