Devon Sproule and Mike O’Neill: “You Can Come Home”

Um…can this be my life, please?

(I love that I heard this song on CBC radio while writing a paper for my media industries course about CBC radio.)

Tickle me freaking pink! I love the chugga chugga choo choo rhythm, like a train rolling along the tracks. The vocal play between unison and harmony is extremely satisfying. And those harmonies! My god, those harmonies. The dynamic build-up is so wonderfully gradual and subtle, in the way that experienced musicians tend to do. And don’t even get me started on the guitar playing! Gotta love that tone and those sweet licks. If you listen to the song again, keeping in mind that there are only two guitarists and a drummer, it’s hard not to be mighty impressed with how full a sound they produce. When I can hear a distinct bass line and there is no bass player, I’m sold on your guitar skills (and strangely inclined to propose marriage). Essentially, if you listen to this song without at least tapping a foot or bopping your head then I’m afraid you just might be a robot.

Can anyone help me out and tell me what kind of guitar he (I don’t know his name) is playing?

Because Devon Sproule and Mike O’Neill sound very charming together, and remote duets are a wonderful use of technology, I leave you with their cover of the Beach Boys classic “In My Room”.